Skip to content

In Case You Missed It: Frightened Rabbit

March 26, 2009

frightenedrabbit-02-bigBack in early January, a friend of mine emailed me asking if I could help her get tickets to see Frightened Rabbit at Bowery Ballroom.  I knew she would only ask for help if the show was already sold out and I knew she has good taste in music, so I was embarrassed that I’d never heard of  the band (in my defense I was out on tour when it was released).  Anyway, I helped her get tickets and then picked up the album.  It took a little while to grow on me, but over the past few weeks I keep finding myself going back to it again and again.  

Frightened Rabbit is the project of Scott Hutchinson and has grown from a solo act to a four piece over the past six years.  They’re from Scotland.  Their latest release, The Midnight Organ Fight, was released last April.  It’s a breakup album and it’s carried by the heartfelt vocals of Scott Hutchinson.  Thought provoking lyrics, uplifting music and the novelty of a playful Scottish accent make the album incredibly listenable.  Highly recommended.  Two of the best tracks below.   Buy the album here.

DOWNLOAD: Frightened Rabbit – Modern Leper

DOWNLOAD: Frightened Rabbit – Floating in the Forth

Bookmark and Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

