Skip to content

Phish played a soaking wet Jones Beach…and killed, 6/5 (night 3)

June 8, 2009

3592388512_ff75da6b26

It rained and rained and rained and rained…and Phish played the best set I’ve ever seen them play.  Six of us rolled out together on the LIRR ready to ready to kick the weekend off on the right note.  Our seats were way up top again and there was plenty of room to dance.  The first set was a mash of songs that I wasn’t particularly crazy about, though everyone I spoke to at set break was gushing about it.  The band sounded great, I’m just more of a fan of the big rock numbers than the tamer ones.

9368

The second set was the best set I’ve even seen the band play.  The rain got worse and the band just kept getting better.  After a DWD opener, the band played a fun version of Twist and then took it up a level with an intense Piper, the song I’d been hoping for over the course of both shows.  Things only got better with “Backwards Down the Number Line” a song I’d barely listened to until my lady-friend mentioned it and played it a few times in the week leading up to the show.  But this version was different, it was intense, it built and built and built and the jam was incredible, total rock and roll.  They followed with my favorite of the new songs I’ve heard thus far, Twenty Years Later.  It’s a low-key, Trey vocal number, but I liked the lyrics…a good tune I’m looking forward to listening to again.  The 2001 that followed was probably my favorite Phish moment all time.  The rain continued to pound the crowd, the lights went dark, then various colored spotlights circled the stage as the intro built.  This was pure disco and the lights matched the vibe perfectly.  The entire crowd was now dancing and everyone I could see was having the time of their life.  The song was played tightly and perfectly balanced a laid-back disco vibe with the building crescendo refrain.  White flood lights lit up the crowd and the rain at one point and everyone roared with raucous approval.  Slave to the Traffic Light ended the set and it was a fitting choice to bring an incredible set to a close.  They returned for A Day in the Life and the soaked crowd tried mightily to get the band to return for a second encore (we deserved it), to no avail.  No matter though, they had delivered already.

Setlist:

Set I: Wilson, Buried Alive, Kill Devil Falls, AC/DC Bag, I Didn’t Know, My Friend My Friend, Ya Mar, Theme from the Bottom, Boogie On Reggae Woman, Split Open and Melt

Set II: Down With Disease> Twist, Piper > Backwards Down The Number Line, Free, Twenty Years Later, Also Sprach Zarathustra, Slave to the Traffic Light

Encore: A Day in the Life

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

