Skip to content

M. Ward, Jim James & Conor Oberst team up as ‘Monsters of Folk’, album due 9/22

June 12, 2009

Photo courtesy of Exclaim!


Worst band name ever?  Maybe, but damn this is gonna be good.  Three of indie-folks superstars have teamed up with producer/Bright Eyes member Mike Mogis under the moniker Monsters of Folk to release a self-titled album on September 22nd.  They’ve collaborated many times over the past few years, including a show I saw at Warsaw in Brooklyn when James sat in with M. Ward.  In 2004, the original Monsters of Folk tour featured Ward, James and Oberst together with each artist playing their own set followed by a collaborative set at the end.  Rumors have it that the supergroup will tour this fall…clearly something to keep on your radar.

DOWNLOAD: M. Ward – Never Had Nobody Like You (featuring Z. Deschanel) (MP3)

DOWNLOAD: Conor Oberst – Cape Canaveral (MP3)

DOWNLOAD: My Morning Jacket – El Caporal (MP3)

Album tracklist after the jump…

1. “Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)”
2. “Say Please”
3. “Whole Lotta Losin’”
4. “Temazcal”
5. “The Right Place”
6. “Baby Boomer”
7. “Man Named Truth”
8. “Goodway”
9. “Ahead of the Curve”
10. “Slow Down Jo”
11. “Losin Yo Head”
12. “Magic Marker”
13. “Map of the World”
14. “The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me”
15. “His Master’s Voice”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lil Donde permalink
    June 12, 2009 1:49 pm

    Dream come true…lookin forward to Sept 22nd!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: