Skip to content

The Dancing of Michael Jackson

July 2, 2009

Moonwalking MJ

I’ve been a fan of Michael Jackson for as long as I can remember.  I’ve always loved his music, his unique style and his over-the-top videos, but more than anything I loved the way he danced.  He moved with a quickness and precision I’d never seen before.  He created moves that seemed physically impossible.  He could toss his hat, spin into a blur, flash his white socks and pop up on his toes before you knew what had happened.  It was the magic of Michael.
When people ask me how I could like someone that’s been accused of some of the things that he’s been accused of, I just say that I separate the artist from his personal life.  I prefer to remember the 24-year old who performed at Motown 25, the 25th anniversary celebration of Motown Records at the Pasadena Civic Center, March 25, 1983.  From the moment he strikes the opening pose, you know something special is about to happen. It was the night he performed the Moonwalk for the first time in public.  It was a performance so powerful that Fred Astaire called him the following day to congratulate him.

 

Two other videos of great performances after the jump.

In 1988, Michael performed two songs at the Grammy Awards, ‘The Way You Make Me Feel’ and ‘Man in the Mirror.’

 

A montage of some of Michael’s best dance moves over the years…

Finally, a friend of mine pointed out that the New York Times original review of Thriller can be viewed here.  An interesting read.

R.I.P.

 

Leave a Reply

