Skip to content

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros played Music Hall of Williamsburg

August 31, 2009

IMG_4419

It felt a little bit like a cult on stage.  There was the guru dressed in white with dreads and a beard and his nine hippie followers with wide smiles and spacey looks.  The music had a folky-tribal-desert-rock feel to it…some kind of hoedown on peyote, and I mean that as a compliment.  Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros brought the kitchen sink to Music Hall of Williamsburg last night (8/30).  They played maracas, giant tambourines, an upright piano, a mandolin, a big hollow-body guitar, keyboards, drums, an accordian, a xylophone, bass, harmonica, an intermittent, yet killer trumpet and the ramped-up vocals of their fearless leader, Alex Ebert.  One friend told me it felt like a cooler version of Hair.  Another friend told me she “lost [her] soul two songs ago.”  If you saw the look on her face, you’d know that was a compliment too.

The songs ranged from country to reggae to rock and the roaring ovation at the end of “Cross the Line (I Come in Please)” which closed their set, was the loudest I’ve ever heard at a club show.  The encore started as a chilled-out duet, but when the full band returned, the energy came with them and the sold-out Sunday night crowd showed their appreciation by dancing wildly until it was over.  It was dually refreshing to see an original band do their thing with such gusto, and a Brooklyn crowd let their hair down and go for it.  Hugs all around.

Their debut album, Up From Below, is out now.  Get it here.  For tour dates and more info, go to their myspace.  Sample their song “Home” below.

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros – Home

A few more pictures after the jump…

IMG_4432

IMG_4428

IMG_4413

IMG_4430

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pipes permalink
    August 31, 2009 8:25 am

    The show was shimmering, I burst into joy when I see them live!

  2. A.D. permalink
    August 31, 2009 3:10 pm

    my brain is still noodlin’. what a great crowd, everybody unleashin the boogie. i ran into that girl who said she, “lost her soul” too, she sure was shmammed!

  3. April Stolarz permalink
    September 8, 2009 2:24 am

    It’s awesomeee that you got a chance to go to an Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros show. I found out about them over the summer, and I’ve been dying to see them live since. I love that you described them as “a cult on stage.” I got that vibe when I watched one of their videos on youtube and I thought they seemed like a giant celebration of love and happiness. Whenever there’s a band with over 5 people, I instantly get excited. I love watching the energy of mucho amigos on stage. Do you think you’d see them again? Did you feel that the show was overwhelming at all? If you haven’t, check out the band “I’m From Barcelona.” Their energy is super high and they always put me in a happy mood. Their old album: “Let Me Introduce My Friends” has a lot more spunk than their new album.

  4. November 23, 2009 9:05 am

    I saw Edward Sharpe and the MZ’s in Williamsburg on Novemember 18th. It was a good show. I am in agreement. The band does have a cult feel to it.

    Frank Grimaldi
    concert-log.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

