Skip to content

Frightened Rabbit streams two new tracks from upcoming album

October 7, 2009

308_568‘Swim Until You Can’t See Land’ is the first single from Frightened Rabbit‘s upcoming album, due out next Spring on Fat Cat.  This track as well as the B-side ‘Fun Stuff’ are streaming here.  The album is untitled for now, but is alongside the upcoming LCD Soundsystem record as my most anticipated of next year.  Thx QC.  The band is currently touring thru the UK and Europe and has no current US dates listed at this time.

Scott discussed the single on his myspace blog:

Anyways, the song itself appeared when I was messing around with a drop C tuning.  I liked how it sounded a bit like a Sun Kil Moon guitar, so I worked away for about a day and put down the foundations.  I would usually come up with the basis for a lyric during my daily walk along the coast from Crail.  I didn’t come back to the house until I had something I was excited about.  I got all the way to Anstruther one day, 3 miles down the coast, before I realised I’d have to walk back.  I had only had a glass of lemonade and a Snickers, so on the way home I started feeling a bit faint and weary.  I had literally come too far, and that’s what sparked the song.  Perhaps it ought to be called ‘Walk On An Empty Stomach Until You Can’t Feel Your Legs’.

Maybe not.

Evidence of the band’s growing popularity and powerful connection with their fans is discussed on Fat Cats site:

The band premiered three new songs – including ‘Swim Until You Can See Land’ – in August at the Edinburgh Festival, The Fly reporting a performnce performance “life-affirming, the crowd’s reaction almost frightening. Seldom do bands inspire such a fanatical and justified response to their music. Unquestionably, Frightened Rabbit tonight is the best show of The Edge Festival so far.” The Herald simulary moved; “Judging by the ovation that greeted Frightened Rabbit as they ambled on stage, this Glasgow based band have truly arrived.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. cam d. permalink
    October 8, 2009 7:53 am

    i’m looking for bagelhead. has anyone seen him?

Leave a Reply

