Skip to content

Blackraptor DJ debut

August 5, 2010

Last night (8/4) with Manhattan & Brooklyn as backdrops, I DJ’d the 150-foot Clipper City sailboat as it sailed around NY Harbor.  Thanks to all the peeps that came out and danced themselves clean.  You can stream or download the set and the playlist below.  Please excuse the “shoes-in-the-dryer” transitions, the stop-restart on the Chromeo track and the awkward segway into the NASA track…it was my first time.  I learned a lot…mostly that people really like to request songs.

To the girl who requested “Keep it Goin Louder” by Major Lazar: that was the best request of the night.  I’m sorry I didn’t play it.

To the girl who requested “Scenario” by Tribe Called Quest and then handed me a $10 bill and wouldn’t take it back: I really wanted to give it back to you cause I knew I wasn’t gonna play the track and you seemed pretty drunk.  I made a half-hearted effort to find you after the set to give your 10 bucks back…then I bought a whiskey with it at the after-hang. Thanks.

To the girl who requested “Bambaleo” by Gipsy Kings: That was an amazing request, I’m sorry I didn’t play it, but I think I made the right move.

To the guy who requested “anything by U2”: No.

To the girl who asked deadpan, “Can you play something a little more mainstream for my friend?”: You asked me while I was playing a Lady Gaga song.  I don’t know what to tell you.

I did grant a few requests including Miike Snow & LCD Soundsystem.

Thanks for the support.

Blackraptor live set on-board the Clipper City, NY Harbor -8.4.10

PDF of playlist: Raptor’s djay Set (August 4, 2010)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    August 5, 2010 6:56 pm

    Dude. Last night kicked ass. We had so much fun. Such a good space and reason to get some old friends together. “Boogie On Reagee Woman” reminded me of the first time we all hung out, dancing in/around an RV in Tennessee.

    Thanks for the set list.
    madame.

  2. Nicole permalink
    August 5, 2010 6:58 pm

    ummm, i meant reggae.
    certainly did.

  3. blackraptor. permalink*
    August 6, 2010 9:38 am

    Thx for coming, really appreciated that you guys came out to support.

  4. pupup permalink
    August 7, 2010 7:26 pm

    funny post.

  5. Hartless permalink
    August 9, 2010 2:19 pm

    Nicole – The FOMO was bad enough without drawing comparison to Tennesee dance party circa ’02.

  6. Nicole permalink
    August 10, 2010 11:09 am

    Wait: Does FOMO mean the “Fear Of Missing Out”??
    You Guys! (I don’t know that kind of lingo– I urban-dictionaried it — thank god for the internet)

    You were missed. Noah was awesome. I would go again tomorrow night if I knew you’d be there and Noah would smoke two Marlboro reds at the same time to the end.

  7. piper permalink
    August 14, 2010 12:10 pm

    I wish I could have been there!! But listening to the music is making my day off ROCK!! Thanks for the tunes bro, xoxop

  8. BTK KILLER permalink
    September 27, 2010 11:20 am

    lol “i learned mostly that people like to request songs”…… welcome to my world brother…the whole day leading up to when ur gonna play you have the greatest playlist in the world in your head and your ready to rage by the time u go on … and then come the requests…and damn are people passionate about their requests…the best requests are the ones that start with “can you play something we can dance to like…”

    glad to hear it went well my friend…any advice just holler at me

  9. P Con permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:27 pm

    Wish I could have made it bud!

  10. November 6, 2010 3:37 pm

    i wish i could have seen this live. but i have this sweet pdf to keep me company out in the desert. lcd live drops tues, text james and let me know how the retirement is coming…
    -your cuz

Leave a Reply

