Skip to content

My Morning Jacket played It Still Moves (and more) at Terminal 5

October 22, 2010

I have an interesting history with My Morning Jacket.  The first time I ever saw them I was in 2003. I was working at a hotel in SoHo.  One morning, Beck walked up to my desk and offered me a pair of tickets to see him play Giants Stadium later that day.  I had heard that the Field Day Festival had been rescheduled as a one-day event at Giants Stadium after their site permits in Long Island were denied.  This meant I just scored a free pair of great seats to see Radiohead, The Beastie Boys, Beck, Spiritualized, Elliott Smith, Bright Eyes and others.  I called a friend, left work early, headed to the stadium and tailgated in the rain with some people from Kentucky who had driven up specifically to see one of the opening acts I’d never heard of: My Morning Jacket.  They offered my friend and I two huge pieces of ganga-butter banana bread and we went into the show.  Over the next 4 hours, we were in a deep haze and we wandered around Giants Stadium listening to some great music (including MMJ) as a backdrop.  When the Beastie Boys came on, we snapped out of it and focused on the stage for the rest of the night which was capped by an amazing performance by Radiohead.  See the NY Times review of that show here.

About a month later, a friend took me to see Foo Fighters and Pete Yorn at Hammerstein Ballroom. The opening act? My Morning Jacket.  They came out barefoot with guitars roaring and my friend said, “Wow.  So which one is Pete Yorn?”  I told her Pete was up next and I slowly put it together that I had sort of seen these guys a month earlier.  Their set made sure I would remember who they were from that point on.  See the NY Times review of that show here.

Since then I’ve seen them at a few festivals but I’ve never become a hard core fan.  I was out of town for the Radio City and MSG shows that my friends have raved about.  This year at Sasquatch I saw them play on the mainstage at the Gorge.  The set was good, but with the temperature dropping to 40 degrees, me and my t-shirt had a tough time getting into it.

Last night, everything worked.  The band decked out Terminal 5 with drapes along all the railings, a proper curtain as a backdrop on the stage and five crystal chandeliers hanging from the ceiling. They made it their own. The place was packed and they came roaring out of the gates with the Mahgeeta.  It was the first time in a long time that I was screaming in appreciation after the opening song of a show. Then they blew the roof off with Dancefloors.  Jim James was headbanging and doing karate kicks across the stage.  The guitars were booming but crystal clear.  It suddenly made sense why this band has such a devoted fan base.  They kicked ass. They took an already rocking album to new heights.  Big jams, battling guitars, killer drums, a big horn section and those monster vocals.  One Big Holiday had the place raging.  This was what a rock show is supposed to be like.  It was fucking legit.  The encore included songs by Bob Dylan, The Velvet Underground and The Band.  When they closed with All Night Long by Lionel Richie, the place exploded and there wasn’t a person in the room who wasn’t smiling and singing along with their own personal version of the lyrics, “Tam bo li de say de moi ya – Heeeeey Jambo Jumbo!  All. Night. Looong, all niiiight…”

My Morning Jacket will play Z tonight (10/22) and Evil Urges tomorrow night at Terminal 5. Both shows are sold out.

My Morning Jacket – One Big Holiday

Lionel Richie – All Night Long

Setlist (courtesy of jambands.com)

1. Mahgeeta
2. Dancefloors
3. Golden
4. Masterplan
5. One Big Holiday
6. I Will Sing You Songs
7. Easy Morning Rebel
8. Run Thru
9. Rollin Back
10. Just One Thing (last played 2009)
11. Steam Engine
12. One In The Same (last played 2004)
———
13. Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You (Bob Dylan, last played 2007)
14. How Could I Know (last played 2007)
15. Sooner
16. Head Held High (The Velvet Underground, last played 2006)
17. It Makes No Difference (The Band)
18. All Night Long (Lionel Richie, last played 2006)

Some content on this page was disabled on July 22, 2016 as a result of a DMCA takedown notice from PRS for Music. You can learn more about the DMCA here:

https://en.support.wordpress.com/copyright-and-the-dmca/

One Comment leave one →
  1. PBall permalink
    October 22, 2010 2:40 pm

    Always a sight to see a rocker with tails on his jacket doing the foot fist way on stage.

Leave a Reply

